National Collegiate Judo Championships

Mar 23, 2019 - Mar 23, 2019

147 collegiate judo competitors met at the United States Military Academy in West Point, NY to compete in the National Collegiate Judo Championships.

The National Collegiate Judo Championships was founded 57 years ago by Sensei Yosh Uchida. The first tournament featured 57 played from 11 schools and was held at the United States Air Force Academy in 1962. The NCJA Championships has since then developed into a much greater existence. Several colleges in the past have hosted the Championships including, San Jose State, Texas A&M, Iowas State University, West Point, among others.

32 schools were in attendance at the 2019 National Collegiate Judo Championships: United States Military Academy, United States Naval Academy, The Citadel, Texas A&M University, University of Florida, New Jersey Institute of Technology, New York University, UCLA, Brookdale, Iowa State University, CalPoly Tech, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Fresno State University, San Jose State University, University of San Francisco, Bucks County Community College, University of Pittsburgh, UC Davis, Austin Peay State University, Rutgers, Diabl Valley College, Bergen Community College, Baruc College, Hunter College, Kingsborough, Seminole State University, Montclair State University, Grinnell College, Saint Peters, and FDU.

Special Awards given outside of typical 1st - 3rd place medalists and team awards:

  1. NCJA Outstanding Male: Greg West (San Jose State University)
  2. NCJA Outstanding Female: Regina Arias (New Jersey Institute of Technology)
  3. NCJA Jeremy Glick Sportsmanship Award: Jacueline Fisher (Iowa State University)
  4. NCJA Yosh Uchida Coach of the Year: Major Greg Sablan (United States Military Academy)



Click or tap an image to enlarge